Daily sitting 34

Wednesday, June 4, 2025 10 o'clock a.m.

Prayers.

Mr. Bourque, Member for Beausoleil-Grand-Bouctouche-Kent, laid upon the table of the House a petition urging government to pave the Doaktown Elementary School parking lot. (Petition 14)

Ms. S. Wilson, Member for Albert-Riverview, laid upon the table of the House a petition urging government to upgrade the Albert Mines Road. (Petition 15)

Ms. Wilcott, from the Standing Committee on Economic Policy, presented the Tenth Report of the Committee for the session which was read and is as follows:

June 4, 2025

To The Honourable The Legislative Assembly of The Province of New Brunswick

Madam Speaker:

Your Standing Committee on Economic Policy begs leave to submit this, their tenth report.

Your Committee met on June 3, 2025, and had under consideration:

Bill 23, An Act Respecting the Prescription Monitoring Act; Bill 27, An Act to Amend the Provincial Court Act; Bill 29, An Act to Amend the Executive Council Act;

and have agreed to the same.

And your Committee begs leave to make a further report.

(Sgd.:) Natacha Vautour, M.L.A. Chair

Pursuant to Standing Rule 78.1, Madam Speaker put the question on the motion deemed to be before the House, that the report be concurred in, and it was resolved in the affirmative.

Ms. Mitton gave Notice of Motion 41 that on Thursday, June 12, 2025, she would move the following resolution, seconded by Mr. Coon:

1

WHEREAS transportation is the second-largest source of greenhouse gas emissions in New Brunswick, contributing approximately 26% of total emissions:

WHEREAS achieving New Brunswick's 2030 and 2050 greenhouse gas reduction targets requires lowering transportation emissions by reducing the reliance on personal vehicles and improving access to public transportation options;

WHEREAS there is currently no government department responsible for coordinating public transportation development, resulting in service gaps, inadequate frequency, and poor integration of transportation modes, leaving many New Brunswickers without reliable public transportation alternatives;

WHEREAS the 2017 *From Surfaces to Services* report identified the critical need for a comprehensive, coordinated approach to improving public transportation across the province, yet no meaningful action has been taken;

WHEREAS appointing a Minister responsible for public transportation would provide the necessary leadership, coordination, and accountability to ensure the effective development, funding, and integration of public transportation services throughout New Brunswick;

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly urge the Premier to give the Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure a mandate for public transportation;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly urge the government to allocate the necessary resources and funding to support the New Brunswick Transportation Authority to create and implement a public transportation strategy.

Ms. M. Johnson, Opposition House Leader, gave notice that on Thursday, June 5, 2025, Opposition Members' Business would be considered in the following order: Motion 35 and 40.

Mr. M. LeBlanc, Government House Leader, announced that following third reading, it was the intention of government that the House take into consideration Motion 38.

The following Bill was read a third time:

Bill 33, An Act to Amend the Community Funding Act.

Ordered that the said Bill does pass.

Debate resumed on the amendment to Motion 38, moved by Mr. Coon, seconded by Ms. Mitton, on May 29, 2025.

And the debate being ended, and the question being put on the amendment, it was defeated on the following recorded division after leave was granted to dispense with the ten-minute time allotted for the ringing of the bells:

YEAS - 16

Mr. Hogan Ms. M. Johnson Ms. Scott-Wallace	Ms. M. Wilson Mr. Coon Mr. Weir	Mr. Cullins Ms. Bockus Mr. Lee
Mr. Austin Mr. Monahan Mr. Ames	Ms. Conroy Mr. Oliver Ms. S. Wilson	Ms. Mitton
	NAYS - 24	

Hon. Mr. Gauvin	Hon. Ms. Thériault	Ms. Wilcott
Mr. M. LeBlanc	Hon. Mr. C. Chiasson	Mr. Mallet
Hon. Ms. Holt	Hon. Ms. Boudreau	Mr. Arseneault
Hon. Mr. Legacy	Hon. Mr. Finnigan	Mr. Bourque
Hon. Ms. C. Johnson	Hon. Mr. Herron	Mr. J. LeBlanc
Hon. Mr. Dornan	Hon. Mr. Hickey	Mr. Doucet
Hon. Ms. Miles	Hon. Mr. Randall	Ms. Vautour
Hon. Mr. McKee	Hon. Mr. Kennedy	Mr. Robichaud

Madam Speaker put the question on Motion 38 and it was resolved in the affirmative.

And then, 12 p.m., the House adjourned.